Results from the 2021 Annual Competition

November 6, 2021 / Comments (0)


Overall Champion Piper of the 81st Annual Competition of the SPSL:

Callum Beaumont

The Scottish Piping Society of London is pleased to announce the winner of this year’s Am Bratach Gorm:

Glenn Brown – The Edinburgh Piobaireachd

The other Bratach Gorm prize winners were:

2. Callum Beaumont – The Phantom Piper of Corrieyairack
3. Finlay Johnston – The Battle of Auldearn (No 1)
4. Alasdair Henderson – The Big Spree
5. Iain Speirs – Lament for MacSwan of Roaig

William Gillies Memorial Trophy

1. Jamie Forrester – The Daughters Lament
2. Sarah Muir – My King Has Landed in Moidart
3. Roderick J. Macleod – The Earl of Ross’s March
4. Darach Urquhart – Lament for the Earl of Antrim
5. Finlay Johnston – Lament for the Union

JB Robertson Rose Bowl (for the P Grade double March competition)

1. Callum Beaumont
2. Finlay Johnston
3. Pipe Major Ben Duncan

London Medallion and John MacFadyen Quaich (for the P Grade double MSR competition)

1. Callum Beaumont
2. Pipe Major Ben Duncan
3. William McCallum
4. Calum Brown
5. Sarah Muir

Mary Flora Beaton Cup (for the P Grade Hornpipe and Jig competition)

1. Finlay Johnston
2. Callum Beaumont
3. Sarah Muir

Overall winner of the A Grade competitions, winning the Terry Maginn Trophy

Calum Watson

RG Lawrie Ram’s Horn Snuff Mull (for the A Piobaireachd competition)

1. Jamie Forrester –The Daughter’s Lament
2. John Mulhearn – Earl of Ross’s March
3. Calum Brown – Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay
4. Sarah Muir – Lachlan McNeill Campbell of Kintarbert’s Fancy
5. Angus John Maccoll – MacLeod of Raasay’s Salute

The Strachan Memorial (for the A MSR competition)

1. Ashley McMichael
2. Calum Watson
3. Matt Wilson
4. Gordon Conn
5. Jamie Forrester

Donald Forbes Medal (for the A Hornpipe and Jig competition)

1. Calum Watson
2. John Mulhearn
3. Gordon Conn

Overall winner of the B Grade competitions, winning the Angus Nicol Award

Andrew Ferguson

John Roe Plate (for the B Piobaireachd competition)

1. Ruairidh Brown –
2. Andrew Ferguson – The Earl of Ross’s March
3. Angus MacPhee – The MacLeod’s Salute
4. Lachie Dick – Lament for Alan, my son
5. Greig Canning – Lament for Captain MacDougal

London Scottish Hodden Grey (for the B MSR competition)

1. Andrew Ferguson
2. Peter McCalister
3. Dan Nevans
4. John Dew
5. Finlay Cameron

Hugh MacMillan Trophy (for the B Hornpipe and Jig Competition)

1. John Dew
2. Jonathon Simpson
3. Ruairidh Brown

Overall Junior Prize and Winner of the Jim Caution Memorial Quaich:

Duncan Winters

SPSL Junior Piobaireachd

1. Duncan Winters
2. Kyle Cameron
3. Dugald Mackechnie

SPSL British Airways Pipe Band Trophy for the Junior MSR

1. Duncan Winters
2. Kyle Cameron
3. Alistair Winters

Highland and Islands Society Trophy for the Junior Slow Air and Jig

1. Ducan Winters
2. Kyle Cameron
3. Alistair Williams